The Cebu Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Inc (CCCI) and AFOS Foundation have taken another step towards promoting sustainable fisheries and related food value chains in Cebu Area through the signing of a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) for the FISH Visayas Project Phase 2 together with its implementing partners from the LGU of Bantayan and Cordova, and the Provincial Offices of DA-BFAR, DTI and DOST on May 3, (Wednesday), at bai Hotel Cebu, Mandaue City.

The MOA provides the framework for collaboration between the partners, recognizing the need for multi-stakeholder partnerships to promote sustainable fisheries & related food value chains in Central Visayas through the FISH Visayas Project. The binding agreement is a testament to the commitment and dedication of all the partners involved in the implementation of the project.

Prior to the MOA signing, partners of the FISH Visayas Project Phase 2 covering all areas from Bohol, Cebu, Negros, and Siquijor entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on September 1, 2022 to collaborate and coordinate efforts through programs and activities identified and agreed in promoting Sustainable Fisheries and Related Food Value Chains in selected municipalities within Central Visayas.

Present in the MOA Signing Ceremony are the signatories and witnesses of the FISH Visayas Project Cebu Partners which includes the Cebu Chamber of Commerce and Industry represented by President Charles Kenneth C. Co and Executive Director Joy Lorena A. Segismar, AFOS Foundation represented by its Project Manager Yvette Hope Labus, and the Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR) – Cebu Provincial Fishery Office represented by Provincial Fishery Officer Joel Clapano and PFO Cebu Planning Officer Rebecca Saburao. Representing the Department of Science and Technology is Provincial Director of the Cebu Provincial Science & Technology Office, Engr. Adrian D. Cruz together with the representatives from the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) Cebu Provincial Office represented by Cebu Provincial Director Rose Mae Quinanola and Division Chief Marivic Aguilar.

The local governments of Bantayan and Cordova were also represented by Local Chief Executives, Hon. Arthur Despi and Hon. Cesar Suan as site areas for Cebu together with Bantayan Municipal Agriculturist Alexander Fernandez, and Cordova SB Councilor Chito Bentazal.